Wine Business Feature Highlights Vegan Filtration Methods!
Wine Business publication recently released an article acknowledging the growing demand for vegan wines, and focused on the options available for vegan filtration alternatives. Certain wines are often not suitable for plant-based eaters due to the filtration methods involved in their making–which can include isinglass (dried fish bladder) or gelatin. The demand for vegan beer has seen some very impressive results, and it looks like the demand for vegan wine may lead to the same.
The article put the spotlight on Eaton’s Filtration Division for their “pure vegan fining agents”. As gelatin is still commonly used as a fining agent to “clarify and stabilize wine prior to filtration and bottling”, many wines as a result are of course not vegan-friendly. However, the publication notes the growing demand for gelatin-free wine, both by vegans and those who cannot consume pork products due to religious beliefs.
The article highlighted a product sold by Eaton under their SIHA brand, which is a pea protein that can act as a substitute for gelatin, and would be suitable for vegans and those with religious dietary restrictions. Dr. Ilona Shneider, an enologist at Eaton’s Filtration Division stated:
“Today’s consumers want alternatives to gelatin fining. We are pleased to offer one that is vegan and free from genetically modified organisms and allergens. It is also in agreement with kosher and halal dietary requirements.”
Eaton sells other vegan fining agents as well, which will hopefully encourage winemakers to drop the unnecessary animal products to keep their wines cruelty-free and therefore even more enjoyable!
Photo Credit: http://4thstpromenade.ca