Trader Joe's Now Carries Vegan Marshmallows!
Marshmallows can definitely be one of those products that many vegetarians or vegans assume is veg-friendly. However, these fluffy sweets are usually made with gelatin, which is neither vegan or vegetarian. While they may not be a staple product in most diets, the image of a few marshmallows melting in a mug filled with hot chocolate or s’mores cooking over a campfire can make any plant-based eater suddenly crave them.
But fear not, because vegans are a creative bunch! There are already many gelatin-free marshmallow options available in specialty stores or sections in supermarkets or even online, and now there is even better news. Trader Joe’s now carries vegan and gluten-free marshmallows! An Instagram post from Vegan Outreach reads:
“Have you heard? #TraderJoes now carries #veganmarshmallows! And for any who may not know, most marshmallows contain gelatin which is made from animal skin and bones (definitely not vegan OR vegetarian).”
With Trader Joe’s carrying the product, not only will it increase the exposure and accessibility of vegan marshmallows in general, but the price, around $2.99, also makes them very affordable!
Photo Credit: www.sheknows.com