Guinness Now Completely Vegan!
UPDATE: Yesterday, People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA) UK announced on Twitter:
“All Guinness worldwide – draught, bottle and can – is now isinglass-free and vegan!”
While the pints of draft Guinness were made vegan in 2017, JOE notes that “bottles and cans of the stout still contained isinglass,” but now:
“Vegans and vegetarians can happily go [to] bars around the world and order a pint of The Black Stuff, with no worry of accidentally ingesting fish insides.”
We’ll drink to that!
The classic Irish stout that has climbed its way to become one of the most popular and well-know adult beverages in bars across multiple continents announced that it will open up a new filtration plant next year that will no longer use isinglass to filter its beer.
Isinglass is a type of gelatin made from the swim bladders of certain fish. It is used in some jellies, adhesives, and – most commonly understood in the vegan community – in clarifying beer. It is what makes some drinks officially non-vegan, yet some vegans will choose to partake in brews from companies who use isinglass (or feel alright with not checking it out first). The Vegan Bros even argue that being particular about beers that use the clarifying agent might do more harm than good for the vegan movement by making the compassionate choice seem like a life of deprivation.
For centuries, Guinness has been using isinglass to help separate large particles of yeast from the beer. It has stood by its claim that there simply isn’t a good enough (and environmentally friendly enough) alternative that works as well as the bladders. The company has yet to release information on just what process they will be using as an alternative, but vegans can rejoice at the news that fishing industry byproducts will no longer be standing in the way of enjoying a glass of the brew.
Photo credit: Flickr (Tiberiu Ana)